Board of Public Accountancy

Continuing Education & Renewal/Reinstatement

All licenses expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years regardless of when first issued, except new licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date will be issued to the next biennium.

Licensees who receive their original license within 12 months of the expiration date pay the full license fee and then at their first renewal pay a prorated renewal fee (half of the current license fee).

You must renew your license on or before the expiration date to continue practicing in Alaska. There is no grace period to practice on an expired license. Renewal forms will be mailed at least 30 days before the expiration date to the last address you provided to the board. You must report all new addresses to the Board in writing.

Before a license can be renewed, certified public accountants must complete no less than 80 hours of approved continuing education (CE) within the two-year concluding licensing period and at least 20 hours of required CE must be completed within each year of that two-year period. For each renewal, at least 4 hours of the required continuing education must cover ethics and Alaska statutes and regulations.

Licensees are subject to a random mandatory audit of continuing education . If you are selected for the audit, you will be notified in writing and allowed 30 days to submit proof of continuing education claimed for the concluding licensing period.

Reinstatement Information

Licenses that have lapsed more than one year and less than three years may apply for reinstatement by paying the fee for the entire period the permit has been lapsed and documenting completion of 120 hours of continuing education during the 36 months immediately before the date of application for reinstatement.

A license that has lapsed more than three years may apply for reinstatement by documenting to the satisfaction of the board that the individual's failure to renew the permit was excusable (See 12 AAC 04.410), paying the required fee, documenting completion of 120 hours of approved continuing education during the 36 months immediately before the date of application for reinstatement and documenting that the continuing education completed included successful completion of a current ethics course and examination published by the AICPA. See 12 AAC 04.440.

Inactive Licenses

A certified public accountant who holds an active license and who is not in active practice may renew their license as "inactive" at the time of renewal by completing the renewal form and paying the inactive license fee. Inactive licenses are subject to renewal. It is illegal to practice on an inactive license.

To resume the active practice of public accounting, an individual with inactive status must reactivate the individual's permit by completing the current renewal form, paying the appropriate fee and providing proof of continuing education. Refer to 12 AAC 04.430..