Real Estate Commission

Education

Instructor Approval Information

The Alaska Real Estate Commission certifies real estate education instructors for the purpose of:

  1. establishing uniform high standards for real estate educational offerings
  2. assuring that instructors meet minimum education and experience requirements

Forms

Instructor Initial Application, #08-4147, Revised 05/2011.

Temporary Instructor Approval Application, #08-4108,
Revised 05/2011. Use for out-of-state instructors. Temporary instructor approval is good for five days from the date of issue.

Instructor Certification Update, Adding Additional Topics,
#08-4107, Revised 08/2010. Adding additional topic areas to instruct.

Instructor Renewal, #08-4174, Revised 05/2011.
Please use this form to renew your certification to instruct Commission-approved education courses. 

Course Approval Information

The Alaska Real Estate Commission certifies real estate education courses for the purpose of:

  1. establishing uniform high standards for real estate educational offerings
  2. assuring that only those courses that cover current and relevant information are certified; and
  3. assuring that instructors meet minimum education and experience requirements

Forms

Course Initial Application, #08-4146, Revised 12/30/13.

Course and Instructor Evaluation, #08-4397, Revised 12/2012.

Biennial Course Renewal 2014-2016, #08-4361, Revised 12/30/13.

Continuing Education Requirements

All Real Estate Licenses expire on January 31 of even-numbered years regardless of when first issued, except new licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date will be issued to the next biennium.

Licensees who receive their original license within 12 months of the expiration date pay the full license fee and then at their first renewal pay a prorated renewal fee (half of the current license fee).

You must renew your license on or before the expiration date to continue practice in Alaska. There is no grace period to practice on a lapsed license. Renewal forms will be mailed at least 60 days before the expiration date to the last address you provided to the board. You must report all new addresses to the Board in writing.

Before a license can be renewed, real estate licensees must complete the following for maintaining continuing competency (Article 8 of 12 AAC).

  1. an 8-hour continuing education core curriculum, identified by the Commission, that stresses current trends in real estate practices and changes in state, federal and case law in the areas of real estate sales, property management, community association management or commercial sales (12 AAC 64.500(b)(1))

    2014-2016 Designated Courses and Guidelines

    2012-2014 Designated Courses

  2. 12 contact hours of continuing education in elective topics that meet the requirements designated in 12 AAC 64.500(a)

Licensee Request for CE Credit

Licensees may receive continuing education credit for a course(s) that they have attended outside the state by a nationally recognized real estate education provider during a licensing period that has not otherwise been certified per 12 AAC 64.500(m). To have a course evaluated for CE credit, complete the form below and submit to the Real Estate Commission office with all attachments.

Licensee Request for CE Credit, #08-4533, New 08-25-09.

Post-Licensing Education Requirements

Effective February 1, 2008 all new licensees are required to complete 30 hours of post-licensing education pursuant to 12AAC 64.064. This education is in addition to the 20 hours of continuing education that you will be required to complete prior to license renewal.

All post-licensing education must be completed within one-year of initial licensure. Licensees are required to submit form number 08-4326 “Affidavit of Post-Licensing Education” to the Commission along with proof of completion of post-licensing education within 30 days after the end of the one year period [AS 08.88.095(c)].

The deadlines for completion of post-licensing education and submitting the Affidavit of Post-Licensing Education will be listed on the individual’s license. If a licensee fails to complete the post licensing education (PLE) required within the one year period and provide the proof of certification, the license automatically lapses 30 days after the end of the one year period and the licensee would be required to reinstate their license (to include a reinstatement fee)

The Affidavit of Post-Licensing Education can be viewed by clicking on the below link. The form has been optimized so that the licensee can type in the form fields and print the completed document.

To view post-licensing education requirements, please select on the link that is reflective of your license type.

Salesperson Post-Licensing Education

Broker Post-Licensing Education

Affidavit of Post-Licensing Education