Reserving or Registering a business name
Before you apply for a business name reservation or registration,
be sure you read and understand:
What is the difference between Reserving and Registering a business name?
To reserve or register a business name follow the three steps below:
Step 1: Determine if the name is "distinguishable" from another name on record by conducting a thorough search including, but not limited to: the internet; business license records; corporations records; professional license records; telephone directories; trade magazines; trademark records; and catalogs.
Step 2: Avoid name restrictions.
- An unincorporated business may not use "incorporated" or "corporation" as part of its name, whereas an incorporated name must contain "corporation", "company", "incorporation", or "limited", or an abbreviation, as part of its name.
- A business name may not imply that the organization is a governmental unit, e.g. a city, village or borough.
- Names that mislead regarding corporate purpose are not allowed.
- Vulgar names are not allowed.
- Words used to identify goods and services, used as slogans in advertising or used to indicate association with an organization are trademarks or service marks and cannot be registered as business names. To file Trademarks in Alaska go to the Corporations Section's or filed under the federal Lanham Act.
- Words used to identify an internet domain name or internet address cannot be registered as business names.
Step 3: Begin the application process by selecting either one of the options below.
- Reserve a Business or Corporation Name
- A business reservation is valid for 120 days and is non-renewable. If you are intending to do business you may reserve (protect) your name while you organize.
- Online Filing is available for business name reservations and most online filings will post immediately.
- Hardcopy Filing: business name reservation may be submitted hardcopy and are processed within 10-15 business days after received by the department.
- The Business Name Reservation has a $25.00 non-refundable filing fee and is available at Forms & Fees.
- Register a Business or Corporation Name
- To register a business name a current Business License is required. A registered name is valid for five years including any portion of the filing year and is renewable between October 1st and December 31st of the year of expiration.
- The names of the following entity types are registered automatically upon incorporation or organization by the Division and do not need to file a business name registration: corporations; limited liability companies; limited liability partnerships; limited partnerships; cooperatives; non-profit corporations; foreign or domestic; Alaska religious corporations; professional corporations; or BIDCOs.
- Online Filing is available for business name registrations; however business name registrations are subject to Corporation Examiner review and are processed within 10-15 business days.
- Hardcopy Filing: business name registration filings may be submitted hardcopy and are processed within 10-15 business days after received by the department.
- The Business Name Registration has a $25.00 non-refundable filing fee and is available at Forms & Fees.
For information about exclusive rights click on:
If you have questions you can reach us at either the Juneau or Anchorage phone numbers listed below
or by emailing us at: email@example.com.